Winners Take Home Coveted Night Mare Statuettes, “The Most Beautiful Trophy in Horror”

Nightmares Film Festival has announced its Night Mare award recipients for 2019, recognizing the dark horses of genre filmmaking and screenwriting.

Leading the 26 prizes awarded was the Film From Hell, recognizing the movie that most bravely pushes genre boundaries, given to Scott Philip Goergens’s harrowing psychosexual thriller 29 Needles

“The 2019 Nightmares program was full of extraordinary, surprising and shocking new genre films, and our Night Mare awards recognize the very best of that lineup,” said co-founder and programmer Jason Tostevin. 

Other films taking leading prizes included Lisa Ovies’s Canadian horror comedy Puppet Killer, awarded best overall feature, and Andrea’s Corsin feral horror story Ferine, awarded best overall short. In the screenplay competition, Avishai Weinberger’s “Third Date” took best feature script, and Shayna Connelly’s “Love as Practice for Dying” won best short script. 

A full list of all winners is below.

Several award winners are being considered for acquisition by attending distributors, including Gunpowder & Sky’s ALTER. All winning short films will be offered home and online distribution through Bloody Disgusting’s showcase channel, World of Death.

Competition films and screenplays competed for the coveted Night Mare statuette, representing the dark horses of genre. The Night Mare is sculpted and hand painted each year by renowned toy and figure creator Tony Simione (Marvel, Star Wars, Godzilla, Alien). 

Nightmares Film Festival has been called one of the world’s best horror film festivals by every major genre outlet. It has maintained its position as the world’s top-rated genre festival on the submission platform FilmFreeway for 36 consecutive months. 

Submissions for Nightmares Film Festival 2020 will open in November.

NFF 19 Awards 

The Film from Hell29 Needles
Best overall featurePuppet Killer
Best horror feature Z
Best thriller feature Reckoning
Best midnight feature The Obsessed
Best director feature Beyond Horror – Jessie Seitz and Marcus Koch
Best horror comedy featureScare Package
Best cinematography feature To Your Last Death
Best writing in a featureA Nun’s Curse
Best actor featureTim Loden – Making Monsters
Best actress featureNicole Brydon Bloom – 1BR
Best overall shortFerine
Best horror shortTick
Best thriller shortGaslight
Best midnight shortVR Food 
Best Recurring NightmareLet Me Play
Best director shortImagine a World – Joanna Tsanis
Best cinematography shortDaughter of Dismay
Best writing in a shortBoo
Best actor shortBaker Chase Powell – We Die Alone
Best actress shortSynead Nichold – Sasquatch
Best horror comedy shortInflatio
Best short screenplayLove as Practice for DyingFirst runner-up: “Gender Reveal Party”Second runner-up: “Mary, Dispossessed” 
Best feature screenplayThird DateFirst runner-up: “He Brings the Night”Second runner-up: “No Overnight Parking”
Additional Awards
Best Ohio filmLook TwiceFirst runner-up: Madness
Written by
Ash Hamilton is not only the owner of, but also one of its major contributors. A long time horror movie enthusiast, Ash has lent his personality to radio and television and continues to support his favorite genre through his writing and art. He also loves beef jerky and puppies... and low-grade street-quality hallucinogens.

Have your say!

0 0

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Lost Password

Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.