Category Archives: Book News

Newly Found Tales of Victorian Terror – “The Ghost Club”

Newly Found Tales of Victorian Terror – “The Ghost Club”

ghostclubad
Writers never really die; their stories live on, to be found again, to be told again, to scare again.

In Victorian London, a select group of writers, led by Arthur Conan Doyle, Bram Stoker and Henry James held an informal dining club, the price of entry to which was the telling of a story by each invited guest.

These are their stories, containing tales of revenant loved ones, lost cities, weird science, spectral appearances and mysteries in the fog of the old city, all told by some of the foremost writers of the day. In here you’ll find Verne and Wells, Tolstoy and Checkov, Stevenson and Oliphant, Kipling, Twain, Haggard and Blavatsky alongside their hosts.

Come, join us for dinner and a story:
Robert Louis Stevenson – Wee Davie Makes a Friend
Rudyard Kipling – The High Bungalow
Leo Tolstoy – The Immortal Memory
Bram Stoker – The House of the Dead
Mark Twain – Once a Jackass
Herbert George Wells – Farside
Margaret Oliphant – To the Manor Born
Oscar Wilde – The Angry Ghost
Henry Rider Haggard – The Black Ziggurat
Helena P Blavatsky – Born of Ether
Henry James – The Scrimshaw Set
Anton Checkov – At the Molenzki Junction
Jules Verne – To the Moon and Beyond
Arthur Conan Doyle – The Curious Affair on the Embankment

 

Brought to you by Crystal Lake Publishing–Tales from the Darkest Depths.

Available wherever books are sold Saturday December 9, 2017

“The Ghost Club is a massively ambitious anthology of stories ‘by’ classic authors as imagined by the extremely talented William Meikle. Massively entertaining, too.”Simon Clark, author of the award winning The Night of the Triffids

“Masters of literature spin classic spooky tales in this chilling collection.”Scott Nicholson, author of The Red Church

“William Meikle is an audacious writer! In The Ghost Club he takes on the personalities of literary icons Bram Stoker, Arthur Conan Doyle, Jules Verne and the like and creates stories they might have told, mimicking their voices and writing styles. And he makes that work! I have too many favorites to name but as I read from start to finish, the stories just got better and better and I found myself as absorbed as if I were reading spooky tales told by these master storytellers. Kudos to Meikle! Lovers of traditional and quirky ghost stories need The Ghost Club in their library!”Nancy Kilpatrick, Revenge of the Vampir King & Sacrifice of the Hybrid Princess

“Not only has the author displayed his knowledge of and love for the writers of yesteryear, but in creating ‘The Ghost Club’ our host has produced his own collection of unknown and previously unpublished short stories ‘by’ Robert Louis Stevenson, Rudyard Kipling, Leo Tolstoy, Bram Stoker, Mark Twain, H. G.Wells, Margaret Oliphant, Oscar Wilde, H. Rider Haggard, Helena P Blavatsky, Henry James, Anton Chekhov, Jules Verne and Arthur Conan Doyle. I say ‘unknown’, when I mean – of course – that all the stories are written by Mr Meikle in the style of the aforementioned authors; and the entire experience of reading this collection is like sitting with him in an old fashioned study, with a roaring fire, guttering shadows and a snifter or two of brandy as he unfolds his ‘Ghost Club’ tales. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.”Stephen Laws

 

Links

Amazon:  http://getbook.at/GhostClub

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36680102-the-ghost-club

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/1980022735543624/

Follow the Where Nightmares Come From Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/NightmareAnthology/) for regular updates, sneak peeks, links, interviews, and more. Or subscribe to the Crystal Lake newsletter: http://eepurl.com/xfuKP

Bible Black | Official Trailer (2017)

Bible Black | Official Trailer (2017)

From the release: “J. Morvay’s Bible Black, Episode 1 is now available on Amazon Video.   In the tradition of Amazing Stories and Twilight Zone comes a thrilling new hybrid of literature and animation: The ultimate animated Graphic Novel Bible Black! Cutting-edge fiction…Mind-blowing graphics…the must see animated horror classic of the year…if you dare? Bible Black… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    34
    Shares
SUPERNATURAL THRILLER CARVES NEW PLACE FOR MONSTERS IN NATURE

SUPERNATURAL THRILLER CARVES NEW PLACE FOR MONSTERS IN NATURE

The Rogue Mountains is a story that drags its audience into the depths of the unknown, thrill, and fear. Tarquinio casts a spell over his readers in his debut novel and makes them yearn for more. He captured the fear of the unknown, fear of what is lurking in the shadows and even what is… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    33
    Shares
“Quiet Places” A Novella of Cosmic Folk Horror

“Quiet Places” A Novella of Cosmic Folk Horror

Quiet Places A Novella of Cosmic Folk Horror By Jasper Bark In the quiet of the forest, the darkest fears are born. The people of Dunballan, harbour a dark secret. A secret more terrible than the Beast that stalks the dense forests of Dunballan. A secret that holds David McCavendish, last in a long line… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    51
    Shares
Book Review – XOM-B

Book Review – XOM-B

  “XOM-B” By Jeremy Robinson Jeremy Robinson’s “XOM-B” is a bit of a tough read, but well worth the effort. Set towards the end of this century, “XOM-B” seems at first to be two separate stories mashed into one.  While the action is first-rate and well written, there is seemingly little prelude to begin with,… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    60
    Shares

Book Review: THE DEAD by Charlie Higson

Book Review: THE DEAD by Charlie Higson

  “THE DEAD” By Charlie Higson “THE DEAD”, the second installment in Charlie Higson’s “ENEMY SAGA” is set one year before the events of “THE ENEMY”. Just weeks after the onset of “the Disaster”, some adults have yet to succumb to the new disease.  Fighting to keep the children alive, while slowly turning into the… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    47
    Shares
‘Horror in the Clouds’ Unleashes an Ancient Evil into the World

‘Horror in the Clouds’ Unleashes an Ancient Evil into the World

Fresh off his Outbreak trilogy (Outbreak: The Hunger. Outbreak: The Mutation, and Outbreak: Endplay) which re-defined the zombie genre and made zombies frightening again, Shoyer is back. This time he tackles and updates the cosmic horror genre and proves that Lovecraft’s creation is more relevant than ever today. But Horror in the Clouds isn’t just… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    62
    Shares
Trailer for The X-Files: Earth Children Are Weird

Trailer for The X-Files: Earth Children Are Weird

Being a HUGE fan of the X-Files myself AND a self professed awesome dad, this is are absolutely adorable. This trailer for the new children’s X-Files themed book dropped yesterday via EW, so we thought we’d give it a share. “Back in March, we gave you a sneak peek inside The X-Files: Earth Children Are Weird — a forthcoming… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    61
    Shares
New from Darkwater Syndicate: Slasher Sam

New from Darkwater Syndicate: Slasher Sam

In cyberspace, everyone can hear you scream – especially if you’ve fallen prey to Slasher Sam, a murderous blogger and the star of Darkwater Syndicate’s new blackly comedic horror novel of the same name. Taking a page from the Scream movie series, Slasher Sam follows the exploits of a horror-movie obsessed serial killer who posts the details of each… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    33
    Shares
Behold! Oddities, Curiosities & Undefinable Wonders

Behold! Oddities, Curiosities & Undefinable Wonders

Want to see something weird? Embrace the odd. Satisfy your curiosity. Surrender to wonder. From Crystal Lake Publishing and the Bram Stoker Award-nominated co-editor of the smash hit Gutted: Beautiful Horror Stories comes Behold! Oddities, Curiosities and Undefinable Wonders. Sixteen stories and two poems take you into the spaces between the ordinary—and the imaginations of some of today’s… Continue Reading

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •   
  •  
    36
    Shares